2020 Achievement Awards recipients announced


CPA Alberta is pleased to announce the 2020 Achievement Award recipients. These exceptional individuals embody the core principles of the CPA profession: integrity, expertise, and commitment, and their activities and accomplishments bring honour to the profession and strengthen the reputation of all CPAs.

More detailed biographies of all recipients will be available on the CPA Alberta website soon.

Congratulations to all 2020 recipients!

Lifetime Achievement Awards

The Lifetime Achievement Award is awarded to those CPAs whose continual commitment to the betterment of their profession, their communities, and the organizations they have served is unparalleled. This year’s recipients are:

  • Daryl Ritchie FCPA, FCA. Daryl is the former Chief Executive Officer and Chair of MNP LLP. Among a multitude of accomplishments, Daryl’s leadership role in building MNP into a major national accounting firm is evidence of the impact of his expertise and vision.
  • Howie Shikaze FCPA, FCA. Howie is now retired from a successful career in public practice His unwavering service and commitment to the accounting profession and his community are just two examples of how Howie’s activities have brought honour to the profession and make him a role model for all CPAs.
  • Betty Thompson FCPA, FCGA. Betty is the President and Board Chair of IntegralOrg. Passionate about giving back and contributing to the community, Betty has made a tremendous, positive impact to numerous not-for-profit organizations over the past 30 years.

CPA Education Foundation Impact Award.

The CPA Education Foundation’s 2020 Impact Award is presented posthumously to Robert (Bob) Young FCPA, FCA, who passed away in 2019. The award is in recognition of Bob’s legacy of service to the Foundation and to accounting education in Alberta.

Fellows of the Chartered Professional Accountants

The Fellow of Chartered Professional Accountants (FCPA) will be granted to those members who have rendered exceptional service to the profession or whose achievements in their careers, the community, or in the profession have earned them distinction and brought honour to the profession.

  • Daniel Adams FCPA, FCA
  • Darwin Bozek FCPA, FCGA
  • Jason Ding FCPA, FCA
  • Greg Gartner FCPA, FCA
  • Theresa Jang FCPA, FCA
  • Edward Lam FCPA, FCA
  • Christine Lee FCPA, FCA
  • Lisa Majeau Gordon FCPA, FCA
  • Warren Pashkowich FCPA, FCA
  • Bruce Picton FCPA, FCA
  • Dale Somerville FCPA, FCA
  • Patti Walsh FCPA, FCA

Distinguished Service Awards

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes members or supporters of the profession who have demonstrated a significant achievement within the last five years and have therefore brought honour to the profession.

  • Sally Banek CPA, CMA
  • Norm Ferguson CPA, CMA
  • Nicole Finnigan CPA, CMA
  • Nick Kietaibl CPA, CA
  • Geoff Oberg CPA, CA
  • Jennifer Pede CPA, CA
  • Adam Presslee CPA, CA
  • Alisa Sorochan CPA, CA
  • Erin Stephen CPA, CA

Early Achievement Awards

The Early Achievement Award recognizes CPAs who have had their accounting designation for 10 years or less and have rendered exceptional service to the profession or whose achievements in their careers or in the community have earned them distinction and brought honour to the profession.

  • Scott Acheson CPA, CA
  • Vivien Chu CPA, CA
  • Darryl Delwo CPA, CMA
  • Kathleen Dengler CPA, CGA
  • Janet Hamley CPA, CMA
  • Joshua Inhaber CPA, CGA
  • Ross Johnson CPA, CA
  • Devan Legare CPA, CMA
  • Darren Liviniuk CPA, CA
  • Staci Millard CPA, CGA
  • Janine Moir CPA, CA
  • Maureen Moneta CPA, CA
  • Amy Sloat CPA, CA
  • Jack Tsoi CPA, CA
  • Ebony Verbonac CPA, CA
  • Jessie Westers CPA, CA
  • John Zabos CPA, CA
  • Christina Zschocke CPA, CGA

CPA Alberta will be celebrating the accomplishments of these exceptional individuals and formally honouring them with their recognition at a rescheduled event, tentatively being planned for the fall.