CMPA names new Board of Directors

TORONTO, September 26, 2017— The Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA) today announced the new Board of Directors for 2017-19 at its Annual General Meeting (AGM), which took place this afternoon in Toronto. At the AGM, Shaftesbury’s Scott Garvie was again elected CMPA Board Chair, a role he first assumed in June 2016.

“With the impressive talent and experience of those on our board, the CMPA is very well positioned to promote the interests of our members over the coming two-year term,” said Scott Garvie, Chair CMPA Board of Directors and Senior Vice President at Shaftesbury.

The new CMPA Board represents a significant renewal for the organization, with 10 of the 24 incoming directors joining the board for the first time. Furthermore this year’s process reflects an unprecedented level of member engagement, as a record 53 candidates ran for election.

“I’m proud that the group of producers joining our board reflects the diversity within our industry,” Jeremy Spry, Chair of the CMPA Nominating Committee, and Senior Vice President at Muse Entertainment. “These individuals will bring strong direction and fresh ideas to our organization, as we work to develop creative solutions to the challenges facing our sector as a result of the global shift to digital technologies.”

The 2017-2019 CMPA Board of Directors

Tom Cox (SEVEN24 Films)
Ron E. Scott (Prairie Dog Film + Television)

Brian Hamilton (Omnifilm Entertainment)
Erin Haskett (Lark Productions)
Cal Shumiatcher (eOne Television Unscripted)
Steven Thibault (Bron Studios)

Kim Todd (Original Pictures)

Paul Pope (Pope Productions)
Mary Sexton (Rink Rat Productions)

Marc Almon (Holdfast Pictures)

Mark Bishop (marblemedia)
Paul Bronfman (Comweb Corporation)
Vince Commisso (9 Story Media Group)
Lauren Corber (LoCo Motion Pictures)
Jennifer Dodge (Spin Master Entertainment)
Sari Friedland (Factory Films)
Scott Garvie (Shaftesbury)
Anne Loi (DHX Media)
Christina Piovesan (First Generation Films)
Andrew Rosen (Aircraft Pictures)

Jean Bureau (Incendo)
Ina Fichman (Intuitive Pictures)
Jeremy Spry (Muse Entertainment)

Bob Crowe (Angel Entertainment)

The Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA) is the country’s leading member-based advocacy organization for independent producers, representing hundreds of companies engaged in the development and distribution of English-language content made for television, cinema and digital media channels. The CMPA works to promote the continued success of the Canadian production sector and ensure a future for diverse content made by Canadians for both domestic and international audiences.


Read Original Article